Header Ads Widget

Odisha bag KIYG Under-21 men's hockey gold

Odisha thwarted Haryana from completing a hockey double as they beat them 4-2 in the Boys Under-21 hockey final of the Khelo India Youth Games in a penalty-shootout at the Mahindra Hockey Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday. Punjab edged Uttar Pradesh also in penalties for bronze.
On Monday, Haryana had beaten Punjab for the Boys Under-17 gold medal.
In a pulsating Under-21 final, Odisha and Haryana were evenly matched and put two goals each past the other in open play, but could not decide the issue, for which penalties were needed.

Odisha led 2-0 with goals from Dipsan Tirkey (11th minute) and Ashis Topno (23rd) but Haryana hit back through a brace from skipper Mandeep Mor (29th, 57th), his second goal in fact setting up the tie-breaker.
In the shootout, Ashis Topno, Gregory Xess, Shilanand Lakra and Dipsan Tirkey converted for Odisha while only Kuldeep and Yashdeep Siwach could score for Haryana.
In the bronze medal match played earlier, Punjab also needed the shootout to complete a 2-0 win over Uttar Pradesh after the two teams were tied 1-1 in full time.
Uttar Pradesh's Samarth Prajapati gave his team the lead in the 12th minute but Punjab's Arvinder Singh scored in the 19th minute to restore parity. In the penalty shootout, it was Punjab's Mehkeet Singh and Karanbir Singh who converted for their team, while Uttar Pradesh missed all their five attempts.
Women’s Hockey
In the Under-17 women's competition, Jharkhand defeated Delhi by an emphatic 11-0 in Pool A. Goals for Jharkhand came from Beauty Dung Dung (9th, 26th, 28th minutes),  Poonam Mundu (34th, 42nd, 45th), Pramodni Lakra (12th), Rajni Kerketta (18th), Dipti Kullu (41st), Sanjana Horo (49th) and Prini Kandir (55th).
In another Pool A match, Punjab got the better of Chandigarh by a 4-3 margin helped by a Sneha Sabharwal hat-trick who scored in the 19th, 35th and 42nd minutes besides Mitali, who opened the scoring in the third minute itself. For Chandigarh, Kavita (13th, 30th) and Dhapa Devi (51st) got on the scoresheet.
In Pool B, Mizoram routed hosts Maharashtra 5-1 with goals scored by Lalthantluangi (23th, 36th, 58thminutes), Vanlalhriatpuii (30th) and Lalruatfeli Jr. (55th) while skipper Rutuja Pisal (51th) scored Maharashtra's only goal. 
The other match saw Haryana register a 3-2 win over Odisha. Komal Rohilla (11th), Deepika (31th) and Neelam (47th) scored for Haryana while Neha Lakra (21st) and Nimabati Singh (49th) got on the scoresheet for Odisha.
In the Under-21 Pool A games, Maharashtra and Jharkhand played out a goalless, giving the hosts top spot in the pool with five points while Odisha were held to a 1-1 draw by Mizoram with goals coming from Dipti Lakra (14th) and V.L. Hmangaihsangi (28th)
Results: Men’s Under-21 final: Odisha bt Haryana 4-2 (2-2 full time); 3rd place: Punjab bt Uttar Pradesh 3-1 (1-1 full time).
Women’s Under-17 Pool A: Jharkhand bt Delhi 11-0, Punjab bt Chandigarh 4-3; Pool B: Mizoram bt Maharashtra 5-1, Haryana bt Odisha 3-2.
Women’s Under-21 Pool A: Odisha drew Mizoram 1-1, Maharashatra drew Jharkhand 0-0.

Post a Comment